Think about it. Think of moments in your life where you have been sincerely happy. The pure-bliss moments in life. Were you by yourself? Probably not. Most likely, you were with the people you love most.

This silly phrase “Life’s about Lives” became my life motto last summer. I was at a point in my life where I felt like I was genuinely the happiest I had ever been. I was away from my family, friends, school, a job, and away from the normal things of young adult life. I didn’t have a phone, a computer, not even a boyfriend; but, I was the happiest I had ever been. I started to realize my happiness was a result of my priorities. It was because I wasn’t worried about Megan anymore. I was worried about other people. I was focused on God, my Savior Jesus Christ, and other people. I wanted to serve and help others to be happy. I found true joy by forgetting about myself.

Sounds kind of funny. To be happy you forget about you? Christ taught that if we lose our life for His sake, we find it. (Matthew 10:39) For me, I found the real meaning and purpose of life and TRUE joy by trying to focus on helping others.

Since returning to my family, college, my cell phone, and the other “normal” things, I have found that this lesson still rings true. The times I am the happiest are when my focus is on serving God and His children. Whether it be staying late teaching one of my dancers the right way to do a pirouette, crying with a friend on a hard day, or cheering on my basketball-star sister. It still proves true- focusing on others makes me happy.

The opposite is also true. I am far from perfect, and I have way more bad days then I probably should. But, when I look back on those “rough” days, 9 times out of 10 it is usually selfish reasons. My hair isn’t on point, I’m tired, homeboy doesn’t love me back. Whatever it is- it’s normally a pretty silly and self-absorbed reason.

This last week I was a nanny for a family while mom and dad went on vacation. Once again, I felt that pure happiness. I was so wrapped up in making sure Isaac got his medicine, Karlee was ready for her cheer performance, Davis having his flashcards done, I hardly even had time to think about me. It was really nice. I was happy.

So, I guess my message (to myself, mostly) is that happiness comes by thinking of other people. When we are focused on ourselves, are joy ISN’T full. When our focus is out and on others, life starts to have more meaning and something happens inside of us. We are happier. That’s what life’s about. Life’s about lives.

